When in Rome

“For I am not ashamed of this Good News about Christ. It is the power of God at work, saving everyone who believes…” Romans 1:16 NLT

Romans is probably my favorite book in the bible. It’s written by Paul (who just so happens to be my favorite apostle) and is full of awesome verses. Reading through Romans there are certain verses that seem to stand out to me at this point in my life. I couldn’t make it through the first paragraph without having to stop and thank God for His love and grace.

Romans 1:5 says, “Through Christ, God has given us the privilege and authority to tell Gentiles everywhere what God has done for them, so that they will believe and obey Him, bringing glory to His name.” For me, a verse like this is a call to action. We have been called and chosen by God to spread the Good News. We have the privilege and authority to tell everyone, everywhere about what God has done in our lives through Jesus Christ. I think too many of us get caught up in the whole, “what is God’s will for my life?” question, that we fail to realize how simple it really is. Paul put it pretty plainly (say that five times fast) in the first chapter of Romans when he said, “…whom [God] I serve with all my heart by telling others the Good News about His son.” Romans 1:9 NLT. That’s it. You don’t have to be a preacher standing in a pulpit to spread the Good News. For me, this blog is a way to get God’s word out. Writing is something that has just always come pretty natural to me. When I got saved I just started writing about how God’s word had inspired me. The great thing about blogging and being able to post online, is that I don’t have to stand in front of anybody! Maybe your thing is public speaking and being in front of a crowd is where you feel right at home. Use that gift to spread the Good News! We all have a calling, a purpose according to God’s will. Someone recently told me, “if you can find what you are passionate about, then you can find your ministry.” I had a friend of mine that actually used online gaming as a sort of ministry. We would jump in a lobby and just start randomly talking about God. It was interesting to see where some of those conversations would lead. They weren’t always pleasant conversations, we were met with plenty of ridicule and harsh words, but it was awesome to be able to use something like video games as a tool to reach people far from God. Who knows, maybe one of the guys we talked to was curious enough to crack open a bible and see what all the fuss was about. What about you? What are you passionate about? What’s YOUR ministry?

Leave a Reply

