Blowing on Coals

“No, dear brothers and sisters, I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead,” Philippians 3:13 NLT.

Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead. It’s funny how certain bible verses come across your life at just the right time. Some people may say it’s coincidence, but I have had waaaaay too many “coincidences” to believe that. I believe it’s God helping me through issues in my life. One of my struggles has been really letting go of some of the things that I have done in my life. I know God has forgiven me, and I know that most of the people that I have hurt along the way have forgiven me. But I am really struggling with forgiving myself. I started reading Philippians because of the verse, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” Philippians 4:13. But if I were to be completely honest, there are so many other verses in this book that really impact me. 3:13 is one of those verses. It’s been six months since I gave my life over to God. I can’t even begin to count all the blessings in my life. Yet my fire has died down, my inferno has turned into a pile of coals. When I first received Christ, I couldn’t put my bible down. I was reading and studying and blogging about God everyday. I just couldn’t get enough! Lately it seems that I have been finding every excuse not to spend time with God. It’s not that my faith is wavering, or I’m starting to question God or anything like that. It’s more so of a priority issue. I can always seem to find the time to play video games or watch a movie, but not to sit down and read the bible or spend some quiet time in prayer. Maybe one of the reasons I like Paul so much is because he really puts it out there. He wrote a lot of these books while being imprisoned in Rome, literally in chains because of his faith! Yet, while being locked up, he still managed to write verses like Philippians 4:4 NKJV, “Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!” That’s awesome! Verse 13 in chapter 3 of the book of Philippians really put things into perspective for me. It doesn’t matter where you have been, what matters is where you are going. I have to stop dwelling on the past, all I can do is learn from those mistakes and move forward. That goes for the recent past as well. “No, dear brothers and sisters, I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I strain to reach the end of the race and receive the prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us up to heaven.” Philippians 3:13-14 NLT. Thank you Paul, for blowing on the coals of my faith. For poking the fire, for taking a stand for Christ even when it meant your own personal freedom and safety were at risk. I pray that I could be as bold for Jesus today as Paul was in his day.

Leave a Reply

