Pray For Me

I think it’s safe to say that most people know Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Even if you don’t know very much about the bible, you have probably seen that verse on a t-shirt, bumper sticker, or wrist band. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to knock the verse. I think it’s a very powerful and meaningful verse, and it just so happens to be written by one of my all time favorite people in the bible, the apostle Paul. Having just finished the book of Luke, I’ve been trying to find a good place to pick back up. I really wanted to read about David, but something kept telling me to keep searching. I happened to find a wristband with Philippians 4:13 on it and I thought to myself, hmmm, all the times I have heard this verse or even prayed and said this verse, I have never really read the book of Philippians. Before I go any further, I want to get something off my chest. Lately, I have been feeling pretty far from God. That raging inferno of passion I had for Jesus has turned into a nice, quiet, cozy, gas log fireplace type of fire. I don’t want to have a nice, quiet, cozy, campfire of passion for God. I want to be raging out of control for God. A fire so intense that it can’t help but be spread to everyone that I come in contact with. Well, needless to say I have been feeling kind of down about the fact that I have sort of drifted off from my daily devotions and prayers. Before I opened my bible today, I prayed that God would give me a message. That He would lay something on my heart that I could put into words to move someone out there that might be reading my blog. I wasn’t expecting to be the one that God moved. When I opened my bible case today, a bracelet fell out. That bracelet had Philippians 4:13 written on it. Being that I hadn’t read it yet, I decided to start from the beginning so could really get the meaning behind the verse. Once I started reading I felt like God Himself were talking to me directly through Paul’s message. “And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernment, that you may approve the things that are excellent, that you may be sincere and without offense till the day of Christ, being filled with the fruits of righteousness which are by Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.” Philippians 1:9-11 NKJV. For some reason this message really hit home for me. Like Paul himself were praying directly for me. If I could ask one thing of my readers, it would be to pray for me. To send out a prayer for “that blogger guy”, that those prayers would fan my flames for Jesus. “Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ,” Philippians 1:6 NKJV.

2 thoughts on “Pray For Me”

  1. #boom. I swear I was just thinking “I haven’t seen Dustin post in a while.” And to top it off…Philippians. Tuesday I got a new tattoo “Philippians 1:3” I got it in memory of my sister. I am in a similar situation as you. Usually, I am leading, encouraging, praying and reading. In this storm I am currently in I am not doing much of anything.I am regularly going to church and that is about it. Without creating my own blog in the comments section of your blog I will just say I will say a special prayer for you if you say one for me. As a Christian I have yet to be in a spot like this and honestly I hate it. I know I am growing or whatever happens after a tragedy but it quite frankly sucks! Hope you see you guys in the real world soon!

    1. Nothing but good has come from me giving my life to God. I don’t want to slip back into the way I was living before. Thank you for your prayers, Lisa. I will keep you in mine! I stopped doing my devotions when I started training for my new job, and just haven’t picked it back up yet. Everyday I feel like God is telling me to get back in the word, and almost everyday since I have found some excuse not too. I think I do a good job at hiding how I really feel, but the truth is that I feel really down about not staying as “on fire” as I should be. I don’t want to lose that feeling. Another thing that has thrown me off was the whole giving up three things for a month…I couldn’t do a single one. It made me feel weak. Anyway, please keep me in your prayers.

Leave a Reply

