I Love Lamp

We have a number of “decorative” lamps in our home. We hardly ever use them but my wife assures me that they make the house look better. When we bought these lamps we intended for them to be seen, not to be put in a closet or under a blanket (although sometimes I think about it). Once we give our lives to God, we become His lamps, His light in the world. He did not intend for us to get saved and then hide the fact that we now live for God, He wants us to shine. Luke 11:33 NKJV, “No one, when he has lit a lamp, puts it in a secret place or under a basket, but on a lampstand, that those who come in may see the light.” I always liked the term “on fire for Jesus” because it paints an awesome picture in my mind. If someone is on fire, you can’t really ignore it or turn away from it. When someone is “on fire for Jesus” people take notice. I was truly saved in August of last year, and once I truly gave my life to God a change happened. I was “on fire for Jesus”. I started posting scriptures, praying, and reading my bible daily. People would come up to me and tell me how proud of me they were and how they couldn’t believe the change that has taken place in my life. But for me, it was all coming naturally. I couldn’t understand why people were so proud of me. I was just doing what I felt God was leading me to do. I had a couple tell me once, after I had given my testimony at church, that when they had gotten saved it took them a long time before they were very open about it. I know that sometimes it can be hard to be open about God, even if you are “on fire” for Jesus. I still have times that I know I should be talking about God, trying to spread the word, but I don’t. God wants us to be open, to be a shining light, to be His lamp, so “that those who come in may see the light”. You never know who may be looking for any type of light to help guide them. Since I was saved last August and started shining His light, I’ve had a number of people tell me that my posts helped get them back in church or that they seen the change that God has done in my life and it inspired them to open the bible. I’m not telling you this to brag or boast, I’m telling you this to encourage you to be open about your commitment to God. Spread the good news in what ever way you can, because you never know who may be watching.

Leave a Reply

