The Great Harvest

It’s been a couple days since I read my bible, and even longer since I’ve posted anything. I can use excuses as to why like, “The holidays really through me off schedule,” or “I just couldn’t find the time” but the honest true is that I have just been slacking lately. I can truly feel a difference when I spend time reading the bible and in prayer, and when I don’t. Picking back up where I left off in Luke, I started chapter 10. Luke 10:2-3 NKJV, “Then He said to them, “The harvest truly is great, but the laborers are few; therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest. Go your way; behold, I send you out as lambs among wolves.” When I read verse 2, I don’t think about working the fields on some farm, I think about the great harvest of people’s souls. We Christians are the laborers and He is right, the laborers are few. I’ve never worked as a farmhand during a harvest, but I’m sure it can be grueling, hard work. Being a true Christian is no different. It’s not hard as in back breaking labor, but it can be hard to stay true and walk the straight and narrow. Hard to keep the values that Jesus Christ lived and died for. Hard to keep your head up when everything you do to reach someone falls short. When I think about the world we live in today and the values we must uphold, we truly are lambs among wolfs. If we are not careful we will find ourselves surrounded by a pack of hungry wolfs, ready for a feast. I pray the Lord sends out more laborers for this great harvest. I pray that we can reach people that are far from God. I pray that we few laborers grow and can shine God’s light on this dark world. I pray that there would be a radical movement of Christianity throughout the world. I pray that we could stop being so religious and start being more Christ-like. And most of all I pray for time, because although I didn’t grow up on a farm, I know that harvest season doesn’t last forever.

Leave a Reply

