Rock Bottom

I personally don’t have any experience building houses, but even I know how important the foundation can be. You can build up an awesome house but if the foundation isn’t what it should be, it’s not going to last very long. The same is true for our lives. We must have a solid foundation if we want to be able to stand the storms that this life has to throw at us. Luke 6:47-49 NKJV, “Whoever comes to Me, and hears My sayings and does them, I will show you whom he is like: He is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently against that house, and could not shake it, for it was founded on the rock. But he who heard and did nothing is like a man who built a house on the earth without a foundation, against which the stream beat vehemently; and immediately it fell. And the ruin of that house was great.” That rock solid foundation that Jesus is talking about in this verse is God. When I read this verse it makes me think about what my life was like before I met Jesus and how unstable it was. When I was living without God it didn’t take a flood to destroy my house, all it took was a gentle breeze. I rebuilt my house time and time again, but instead of using God as my rock I used drugs and alcohol. Each and every time I would rebuild my house only to have it torn down in the smallest of storms. It took me hitting rock bottom to realize that God was that rock at the bottom. I’m so thankful that Jesus found me, laying in the ruble of a broken home, and He in all His mercy, helped me build a proper foundation. This verse also makes me think of the direction our country seems to be headed in also. Everywhere I look I see people and organizations trying to remove our foundation, trying to remove God. In schools, in the workplace, and in more and more homes each day, God is being taken out. This country was founded with God in mind, “In God We Trust” is printed on our money. It scares me to think how long our country will hold up if the foundation is ever truly removed. Most of us have heard the word of God before, but how many of us actually follow what it says? I have lived without God in my life, without that solid foundation, and I can testify to how great the ruin truly can be. If you are struggling and everything seems to be tearing you down, you may need to check your foundation. I’m not saying that with God in your life you won’t face storms, I’m saying that when you have God as your foundation, as your rock, nothing will be able to shake you.

One thought on “Rock Bottom”

Leave a Reply

