The Greatest Story Ever Told

God truly works in mysterious ways. Yesterday I was going through my bible when I realized I haven’t read the gospel of Luke yet. I thought to myself, “How did I miss one?” So I started reading it. Today I read chapter 2 and it all made sense as to why I’m just now reading it…in December. Chapter 2 is all about the birth of Jesus. It’s crazy, I know. I just so happen to start reading the book of Luke in December, the month that Jesus just so happened to be born. Coincidence? I think not. The chapter starts out with Joseph and Mary going to Bethlehem to take part in a new census that Caesar Augustus has just put into action. While they were there, Mary went into labor. Luke 2:6-7 NKJV, “So it was, that while they were there, the days were completed for her to be delivered. And she brought forth her firstborn Son, and wrapped Him in swaddling cloths, and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.” Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, born in a barn and laid in a manger. Pretty humble beginnings. The chapter then jumps over to some shepherds that were out in a field getting a visit from an angel. Luke 2:9-11 NKJV, “And behold, an angel of the Lord stood before them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were greatly afraid. Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people. For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.” It says they were greatly afraid. I’ve personally never seen an angel, but I can imagine it’s probably a pretty intense experience. I started thinking about the fear that the shepherds felt when they saw the angel, and it reminded me of the fear I, and I’m sure many others, felt about salvation. I grew up in a house that went to church enough to know who Jesus was but I had never had a relationship with Him. Before I was truly saved, I can remember being afraid of salvation. I know that sounds kinda weird but it’s true. I was afraid to make such a commitment with my life, I was afraid of friends that I might lose, I was afraid that I would miss out on some of the things that this world had to offer. I never knew what true salvation felt like, until a few short months ago. Before, I lived a life full of self indulgence. Parties, drinking, and drugs were what I lived for. I was constantly searching for that temporary satisfaction that came from earthly desires. That temporary “happy” that I felt, almost ruined my life. It was destroying my life and my marriage. I got to a point where I was using drugs almost everyday, and drinking to the point of a black out every weekend. I hit my low point one weekend when I almost burnt my house down in a blacked out drunken rage. The scariest part about this is that even after all that, I still had no intensions of stopping. These worldly desires had such a grip on me that I couldn’t see the true damage they were causing. Thankfully God had a plan for my life. God put an angel in my life in the form of my wife. She stuck by me in the worst of times, shining her light on my dark life. She’s the one that got me into church, she’s the one that helped me establish a relationship with God. She’s the one that gave me the match that lit my heart on fire for Jesus Christ. I’m telling you this not for a pat on the back or an “attaboy!”. I’m telling you this because I have felt the power of God and the change it can do for your life. Take it from someone that has “been there, done that”, someone that has lived for that next high, that next drink. Nothing on this earth will ever come close to the grace of God. No drug on this planet can give you the “high” that Jesus Christ can. His love is unending and His joy is everlasting.

2 thoughts on “The Greatest Story Ever Told”

Leave a Reply

