Guilty As Charged

Telling God you don’t believe in hell, is like telling a judge you don’t believe in jail. I can’t remember where I heard or read that at, but it’s one of the best analogies I’ve ever heard for faith. God and a judge, hell and prison, they are almost the same thing, one is just on a more eternal level. You get convicted of a crime and no matter how much you tell yourself, or the judge, that you don’t believe in jail, you’re still going to go. It’s the same thing with God. I hear people say they don’t believe in God all the time, but no matter how much you don’t believe, one day EVERYONE will stand before Him. 2 Corinthians 5:10 NKJV, “For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.” One day we will stand before God, in all His glory, and have to answer for everything we have ever done on this earth. For some of us out there, this is a little scary. The good news is that we don’t have to let our past define our future. We don’t have to keep living a certain way just because that’s the way we always have. Once you truly give your life to God, you are born again. You are a new creation in Christ. 2 Corinthians 5:17 is one of my favorite verses in the bible, it says, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.” Every bad thing, no matter how terrible, is washed away in the eyes of God. I know the guilt of certain things may still weigh on your heart, but take comfort knowing that once you start walking the straight and narrow path to salvation, whatever roads you previously walked down no longer matter. I know some people out there are the type that need hard evidence, they need proof of His existence. I don’t have any hidden answers. For me, my faith came from a feeling like God Himself were talking to me. I felt Him move in my heart. It was a feeling too big to ignore. I felt God calling me and instead of brushing that feeling off like I had done so many times before, I answered. I know some people will read that and say, “What? He “moved” you?” Think about the love you have for your mother, you can’t “prove” that you love your mother, can you? You may say that you can see your mother, but in 2000 plus years will anybody “believe” she existed? Verse 7 says, “For we walk by faith, not by sight.” That one short verse says a lot. Faith in God, faith in Jesus Christ, faith that there is a heaven and also a hell. We must walk in faith. Whether you believe it or not, the truth is that Jesus Christ died for you. He died for your sins. He died in the most brutal way so that you may have ever lasting life. 2 Corinthians 15 NKJV, “and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.” Before I was truly saved, I lived entirely for myself. I smoked, I drank, I cussed, I chased women, I did drugs, I did just about everything the bible says not to do. But once I truly gave my life to God, I was washed clean. I was born again. I am a new creation in Christ. I truly am a changed man. I hear people say that the Christian “lifestyle” is boring. The truth is that being a Christian isn’t boring, you just see the world through new eyes. You no longer have the desire to live for yourself. I’m not saying I look down on anyone that isn’t saved, no true Christian should. It’s our duty, our purpose as Christians to spread the word of God. 2 Corinthians 20 NKJV, “Now then, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were pleading through us: we implore you on Christ’s behalf, be reconciled to God.” It’s not too late to give your life to God. Jesus loves you no matter what you’ve done. He would gladly welcome you with open arms, all you have to do is ask.

Leave a Reply

