My New Body

I’ve often wondered what I will look like in heaven. It’s something that I have thought about since I was a little kid. I was always told there will be no sickness, no pain, no suffering, but never what I would look like. As I finished reading chapter 15 in 1 Corinthians, Paul talks about our body and how we will be changed. I’m not the first to ask about this, verse 35 says, “But someone will say, “How are the dead raised up? And with what body do they come?” So obviously people were curious about it back then also. Paul’s answer in verse 38 and 39 is this, “But God gives it a body as He pleases, and to each seed its own body. All flesh in not the same flesh, but there is one kind of flesh of men, another flesh of animals, another of fish, and another of birds.” Um, what? That’s a little confusing if you ask me, but after thinking about it for a while it kind of makes sense. It says all flesh is not the same flesh, but there is one kind of flesh of men, to me that’s saying we all have the same kind of flesh regardless of color or ethnicity. Nobody has alligator skin that I know of, although that would be awesome. Verse 44 says, “It is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body. There is a natural body, and there is a spiritual body.” So clearly there is a difference between our earthly bodies, and our heavenly ones. It goes on to say in verse 49 and 50, “And as we have borne the image of the man of dust, we shall also bear the image of the heavenly Man. Now this I say, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; nor does corruption inherit incorruption.” To me, this is saying that while we have an image of the man of dust here on earth (we look like we do now) when we die we will take on a spiritual body in the image of the heavenly Man (Christ). It also says that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, this body will not be the one we have in heaven. Now I know a lot of people reading this are probably saying, “What? He didn’t tell us what we will look like in heaven?!?” I can’t give you details because I don’t know them. All I know is that we will be “changed”. 1 Corinthians 15:51-52 NKJV, “Behold, I tell you a mystery: We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed- in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.” What’s important isn’t what we will look like on the other side, what’s important is that we make it to the other side. We don’t know when that trumpet will sound, but for many I fear, it will be too late. Being a Christian in todays world can be rough sometimes. God’s work isn’t always easy, but it’s always worth it. 1 Corinthians 15:57-58 NKJV, “But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.”

2 thoughts on “My New Body”

Leave a Reply

