Party Animals

I often post verses from the NKJV but I also have an “Every Man’s Bible” that is NLT. I like the NLT because it’s easy to read and has a lot of extra “stuff” in it, like timelines, quotes, and it often gives a brief history of important people in the bible. I carry both versions around with me and when I do my bible studies, I try to read both so I can get a good understanding of what I’m reading.
While doing my bible study this morning I came to a verse in Galatians that just seemed to have more of an impact in the NLT than it did in the NKJV. Galatians 5:19-21 NLT, “When you follow the desires of your sinful nature, your lives will produce these evil results: sexual immorality, impure thoughts, eagerness for lustful pleasure, idolatry, participation in demonic activities, hostility, quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambition, divisions, the feeling that everyone is wrong except those in your own little group, envy, drunkenness, wild parties, and other kinds of sin. Let me tell you again, as I have before, that anyone living that sort of life will not inherit the Kingdom of God.” It says that when you follow the desires of your sinful nature, you will not inherit the Kingdom of God. We were all born with sin in our hearts. We all have that desire whether we want to admit it or not. Having the desire is not wrong, we are only human, but when we choose to act on those desires is when we mess up. I like this verse because to me, it says there is more to salvation than just reciting a verse, we have to live a certain way.
One thing that kept me from coming to church throughout the years was seeing someone act one way at church then another every other day. Now that I’m trying to live a certain way, I see how hard it can be to stick to the straight and narrow road. Temptation is everywhere today. It’s easy to give in to that desire to sin and have a drink or watch something you know you shouldn’t be. Thankfully, we have a merciful God. This verse doesn’t say that if you mess up, you go to the pit, it says if you live that lifestyle. We all mess up, we all stumble, it’s human nature. God didn’t create us with the intentions of being perfect.
Galatians 5:22-23 NLT, “But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives, He will produce this kind of fruit in us: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” Once we allow the Holy Spirit to dwell in us, we will experience the everlasting joy that only Jesus Christ can give. His eternal love and joy far outweighs the temporary satisfaction we get from sin.

One thought on “Party Animals”

Leave a Reply

