Are you talking to me, God?

I grew up hearing about how God “spoke” to people. I would hear someone say something like, “I just felt the Lord speaking to my heart.” I never understood what that meant until recently. I always thought to myself, “You felt Him speak to you? How do you feel speech?” I just couldn’t understand what they were talking about, until now. For me the first time I truly felt the Lord was at a service up in Table Rock, SC. It was an outside service in the mountains, it was beautiful. I just felt something telling me to go to the alter call, so instead of ignoring that “feeling” I got up, went to the front, and prayed. I prayed harder that day in just a few short minutes than I have ever before, but I still hadn’t accepted Christ as my savior. A short while later I had finally agreed to start going to church with my wife. In a service that I wasn’t even paying attention to, is the second time I felt the Lord speaking to me, telling me it was time. That night I gave my life to God. Since then I honestly feel like I can hear God speaking to me all the time. After I got saved, I started praying. I started praying that God would reveal Himself to me. I prayed that I would know God’s will for my life. I prayed that God would tell me what to do with self. I prayed that same prayer this morning before I got out of bed. And when I got up I started reading my bible. I did my normal bible study while my son ate breakfast and watched morning cartoons, then I started flipping around my bible. I came to a verse that I had already highlighted a while back and it stopped me in my tracks. Acts 26:16 NKJV, “But rise and stand on your feet; for I have appeared to you for this purpose, to make you a minister and a witness both of the things which you have seen and of the things which I will reveal to you.” What most of you probably don’t know is that I have been trying to figure out what my next step is in life. Should I go back to school or should I just start looking for some kind of a job. I’ve been praying that God would lead me somewhere, that he would open some kind of a door for me. Ask and you shall receive, right? Well, this morning I feel like He revealed to me not just my purpose but what my goal in life should be also. Acts 26:18 NKJV, “to open their eyes, in order to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and an inheritance among those who are sanctified by faith in Me.” I’m still looking for a job or more preferably, a career, but God showed me what my purpose was this morning.

Leave a Reply

